Wayne State University

Communication Studies Faculty

Jane Fitzgibbon
  • Jane Fitzgibbon
  • Lecturer
  • 517 Manoogian Hall
  • janefitzgibbon@wayne.edu
  • Dr. Jane Fitzgibbon (Ph.D., Wayne State University) is a lecturer and is director of the business communication course. She is a member of the university's...
Brandon Hensley
  • Brandon Hensley
  • Lecturer
  • gf8822@wayne.edu
  • Brandon Hensley serves as Lecturer in the Department of Communication. He received his Master of Arts degree from Eastern Illinois University, specializing...
Rosie Jahng
  • Rosie Jahng
  • Assistant Professor
  • 525 Manoogian Hall
  • jahng@wayne.edu
  • Rosie Jahng joined the Department of Communication of Wayne State University, Fall 16. She holds a PhD in Journalism from the University of Missouri, MA...
Kelly Jakes
  • Kelly Jakes
  • Assistant Professor
  • 540 Manoogian
  • kelly.jakes@wayne.edu
  • Kelly Jakes (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin) joined the Wayne State communication studies faculty, Fall 2014. Her research focuses broadly on issues...
Katheryn Maguire
  • Katheryn Maguire
  • Professor
  • 585 Manoogian Hall

  • kmaguire@wayne.edu
  • Katheryn C. Maguire is Professor and Chair in the Department of Communication here at Wayne State University. Her research centers on how individuals use...
Rahul Mitra
  • Rahul Mitra
  • Assistant Professor
  • 541 Manoogian Hall

  • rahul.mitra@wayne.edu
  • Rahul Mitra is an assistant professor of organizational communication. Prior to obtaining his PhD from Purdue University, he worked in the news broadcast...
Anita Mixon
  • Anita Mixon
  • Assistant Professor and Basic Course Director COM 1010
  • 539 Manoogian Hall
  • anita.mixon@wayne.edu
  • Dr. Anita Mixon received her doctoral degree in Communication from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where she specialized in Rhetoric and...
Michele (Shelly)  Najor
  • Michele (Shelly) Najor
  • Senior Lecturer, Director of Undergraduate Public Relations Program
  • m.a.najor@wayne.edu
  • Shelly Najor is director of the undergraduate public relations program at Wayne State University in Detroit. As a faculty member in the Department of...
Julie Novak
  • Julie Novak
  • Associate Professor
  • 529 Manoogian Hall
  • jmnovak@wayne.edu
  • My approach to learning and research takes theory and infuses it with praxis or praxis and infuses it with theory to mediate a better world. I agree with...
Donyale Padgett
  • Donyale Padgett
  • Associate Professor -- Diversity, Culture & Communication
  • 515 Manoogian Hall
  • drpadge@wayne.edu
  • Professor Padgett has been a faculty member in the Department of Communication at Wayne since the fall of 2002 and on the tenure-track since 2006.┬áHer...
Matthew Seeger
  • Matthew Seeger
  • Professor and Dean
  • 5104 Gullen Mall - The Linsell House
  • matthew.seeger@wayne.edu
  • Matthew W. Seeger, (Ph.D., 1982, Indiana University) has been a faculty member and administrator at Wayne State University for 32 years. He is currently...
Pradeep Sopory
  • Pradeep Sopory
  • Associate Professor
  • 523 Manoogian Hall

  • dz3594@wayne.edu
  • Pradeep Sopory (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison) conducts research on message effects related to persuasion and influence, in both interpersonal and...
Ronald Stevenson
  • Ronald Stevenson
  • Senior Lecturer and Director of Debate
  • 537 Manoogian Hall
  • stevenson.ron@gmail.com
  • Dr. Stevenson grew up in Michigan and was recruited by his mentor, Distinguished Professor George Ziegelmueller, to attend Wayne State University and...
Stephanie Tong
  • Stephanie Tong
  • Associate Professor
  • 569 Manoogian Hall
  • stephanie.tong@wayne.edu
  • Stephanie Tong is an associate professor in the communication studies area. Her research interests lie at the intersection of interpersonal communication...
Denise Vultee
  • Denise Vultee
  • Lecturer
  • 511 Manoogian Hall
  • dx8298@wayne.edu
  • Denise Vultee (Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2001) is a lecturer in the communication department. She teaches COM 1010 (Oral...
Kelly Young
  • Kelly Young
  • Associate Professor, Director of Forensics, Area Head (Com Studies unit)
  • 536 Manoogian Hall
  • kelly.young@wayne.edu
  • Dr. Kelly Michael Young is an associate professor of communication, the director of forensics (competitive speech & debate teams), and area head of the...