Graduate Student Association

Graduate Student Association - Communication - LogoThe Graduate Student Association (GSA) of the Department of Communication is recognized as a professional student organization by the Dean of Students Office that works to:

  • Represent graduate student interests, especially their educational and career goals.
  • Collaborate with department faculty, staff, and alumni to promote and support excellence in graduate teaching, research, service and learning.

The constitution and bylaws (PDF) that govern our organization are accessible via this web page. Also, minutes of our meetings are available for our student membership and other parties interested in the happenings of the GSA.

GSA officers elected for the 2020-2021 academic year are:

President - Laura Bruns (End-of-life communication, rhetoric, feminism/women's studies) –

Vice President – Anna Lindner (Rhetorical and critical approaches to critical race, gender, and cultural studies)

Secretary—Farah Harb (Political and intercultural communication with a focus on media effects and activism)

Treasurer – Treja Whitfield (Intercultural communication, study abroad, race and Black American international travel)

Colloquium Director – Khairul Islam (Health Communication within the context of public health and crisis)

International Student Liaison – Christine Nyawaga (Organizational Communication, focus on work, control, and social justice)

Master's Student Rep – Leah Olajide (Journalism with a focus on mass media and cultural diversity issues)

Please feel free to contact any of the GSA officers if you have any questions or are interested in contributing to the efforts of the GSA.