Public Relations Undergraduate Scholarship Recipients

Public Relations Scholarship Awardees:

The Renee M. Abraham-Harries Memorial Endowed Scholarship in Public Relations: Nora Rhein and Kat Rais


Photo of Nora Reines

Nora Rhein

 Nora Rhein is a sophomore public relations major with a university honors co-major and a theatre management minor, set to graduate in spring 2023. "I am very grateful for this generous recognition, and plan to use the endowed funds to continue pursuing professional development experiences." 





Photo of Kat Rais


Kat Rais

I am a senior at Wayne State University majoring in public relations. My anticipated graduation date is Fall 2021.  "I am grateful to have received this scholarship and plan on using it towards my education." 








The Berg Muirhead Scholarship for Public Relations Student Advancement: Veronica Weisenbach and Alanna Tuppins

Congratulations to Veronica Weisenbach and Alanna Tuppins on being awarded The Berg Muirhead Scholarship for Public Relations Student Advancement. This scholarship is sponsored by VanDyke Horn Public Relations to honor the legacy of its founders, Bob Berg and Georgella Muirhead, and their contributions to the public relations industry.


Image of Veronica Weisenbach


Veronica Weisenbach

"I am a junior majoring in Public Relations and minoring in Sports Management. I look forward to using this scholarship to further my education and help organizations in Detroit prosper."







Image of Alanna Tuppins


Alanna Tuppins

"It is such an honor to be a recipient of the Berg Muirhead Scholarship of Public Relations Student Advancement! I intend to graduate as a PR major with a minor in journalism in Winter 2021. Thanks to all involved my research career is further secured at Wayne State by your generosity. "






The Jeannine Gregory Leadership Award: Britt'Nay Smith

The Jeannine Gregory Scholarship in Public Relations Leadership was developed in honor of former Wayne State University student and past PRSSA president, Jeannine Gregory.


Image of Britt'nay

Britt'Nay Smith

"I am currently a Senior at WSU and I will be graduating in December 2021. My major is communication studies. Receiving the Jeannine Gregory Memorial Endowed Scholarship means the world to me and I am elated to be this year's recipient. I intend to allocate the funds towards paying for my final classes."







Image of Jenavee

Michael and Judy Layne Annual Scholarship in Communication: Jenavee Johnson

Michael earned both his bachelors and masters degrees from WSU and is a member of the Board of Visitors for the College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts. He is also a founding partner of Marx Layne & Company, Michigan's largest independently owned public relations agency. Their generosity will aid deserving students as they endeavor to reach their goals.

Jenavee Johnson

"I am excited to start my senior year in fall 2021. I am majoring in communication and minoring in new media. I plan to use the scholarship money to pay off some debt/balances I owe, as well as getting the books and material required for the upcoming semester. Having a scholarship pushes me and gives me the motivation to work even harder to excel in college."