Department of Communication Graduate Scholarships

Winifred Clephane Endowed Graduate Scholarship in Communication: Derek Nesbitt

This scholarship recognizes scholastic achievement, encourages continued progress, and provides financial assistance to students financing their education in the Department of Communication.

Loepp Family Endowed Scholarship: Derek Nesbitt and Mara Minott

The Loepp Family Foundation created this scholarship to honor talented graduate students in the Department of Communication and to empower new generations of communication leaders to pursue the Loepp Family's example of leadership and service.

Department Nominees for the Master's Scholarship for Recruitment and Retention through the Graduate School at Wayne State University:

Tammy Sanchez: "I was surprised and couldn't believe this opportunity was actually for me. Receiving this nomination has given me a boost of confidence, reminding me that I'm capable to achieve good things and the Communication Department is a supportive place to be." 

Leah Olajide: "This scholarship means a lot to me. Since graduating from undergrad, I barely gave a thought to grad school because of financial reasons. I would hear everyone say "Grad school is expensive!" While this is very true, I can say that after completing my first year of grad school, Wayne State's Communication Department has been extremely helpful and generous in helping me to fund this important milestone in my education. Receiving this scholarship helps to move me along in my course requirements and focus on earning good grades. As the newly appointed Master of Arts Student Representative for the Communication Graduate Students Association, I want to say a special THANK YOU to everyone who has helped make this funding possible. To give back to WSU as an e-board member while simultaneously being educated is a blessing I did not expect. Thank you so much!!"