Journalism Undergraduate Scholarship Recipients

Benjamin J. Burns Endowed Scholarship for Excellence in Journalism: Sloan Terranella

This Scholarship honors and memorializes Wayne State University's long-time Director of the Journalism Program, and founder of its Journalism Institute for Minorities, now the Journalism Institute for Media Diversity. A career journalist-reporter, editor and publisher-Burns joined Wayne State's Journalism Department in 1988 and was director of the Journalism Program until his death in 2012. The Scholarship was initiated by his wife Beverly but is supported by many who admired and respected Ben Burns.

The Automotive Press Association - Al Vinikour Journalism Scholarship: Cassie Hall

The APA was formed to provide a forum for automotive journalists, PR representatives and others to exchange information about the auto industry.  The APA established this scholarship in honor of Al Vinikour, an APA volunteer and longtime freelance automotive journalist who died in 2016.

Michael Freedman Endowed Scholarship in Journalism: Jonathan Szczepaniak     

This scholarship honors Michael Freedman, a Detroit native and graduate of Wayne State University who had a successful career in journalism and politics. He started in Detroit, where he was a reporter, anchor and news director. Freedman became general manager of CBS Radio Network in New York, managing editor of the Broadcast Division of United Press International, leadership press secretary to Michigan Congressman and House Majority Whip David Bonior, and a professor of journalism at The George Washington University.

Armand and Eleanor Gebert Endowed Scholarship: Frances Bentley, Arben Gacaferi, Allise Hurd

The namesakes of the Armand and Eleanor Gebert Endowed Scholarships have deep ties to journalism in the Motor City. Armand Gebert joined the "police desk" of the Detroit News, where he worked for 43 years.  Eleanor Breitmeyer joined the Detroit News' Women's Department, became Club Editor, and then became Society Editor. She and Armand met at the News and married in 1976. After Armand retired, he taught journalism at Wayne State for 10 years.

Robert W. and Louise A. Giles Broadcast Journalism Endowed Scholarship: Lauren Turner

Giles had a 40-year career in Detroit television news management at Channel 4 and Channel 7.  He earned a B.A. degree in Mass Communications at Wayne State University. This scholarship is named for Bob and his wife, Louise who had a successful career in newspapers, television news, and corporate communications. They said this scholarship reflects their deep interest in providing access to quality education and training for new leaders in broadcast journalism.   

Joyce Skinner Endowed Journalism Scholarship: Jackson Moulton and Cayla Orns

Joyce Skinner established this fund to recognize scholastic achievement, to encourage continued progress, and to assist journalism students in financing their education at Wayne State University.

Renee Skoglund Endowed Student Award: Frances Bentley

This fund was established in honor of Renee Skoglund, who earned her Bachelor of Arts in English in 1989 from Wayne State University. She was an award winning editor and columnist for the Observer and Eccentric Newspapers of southeastern Michigan. She enrolled at Wayne State after raising her family and found her passion and voice through writing.

George M. and Mabel H. Slocum Scholarship in Journalism: Cassie Hall, Crystal Jeffrey, Slone Terranella, and Lauren Turner

This scholarship was established to recognize scholastic achievement, to encourage continued progress, and to provide assistance to students majoring in Journalism in financing their education at Wayne State University.

W. Sprague Holden Memorial Scholarship in Journalism: Jack Filbrandt and Jonathan Szczepaniak

This scholarship was established to honor Willis Sprague Holden, who first wrote for newspapers in Grand Rapids, Detroit and San Francisco, and from 1940 to 1946 for the Detroit Free Press.  Holden served as Chair of Wayne State University's Department of Journalism from its beginning in 1949 until his death in 1973. He was a prolific writer, contributing to newspapers and magazines.